Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Newbie trying to use the Database Forge Class

[eluser]Jay Turley[/eluser]
Hi, all.

I'm new to codeIgniter, coming from the world of .NET and classic ASP. And I am much happier now Smile

I'm trying to use DBforge to (1) drop a database, (2) create a database, and (3) create some tables.

I have no problems with (1) and (2). However, after I have created the database, and I try to add a table, I get the following error message:

Quote:An Error Was Encountered
Error Number: 1102

Incorrect database name ''

SHOW TABLES FROM ``

I assumed this was due to the fact that initially, my database configuration (config/database.php) was

Code:
$db['default']['hostname'] = "localhost";
$db['default']['username'] = "root";
$db['default']['password'] = "blah";
$db['default']['database'] = "";
$db['default']['dbdriver'] = "mysql";

So I added a line to the table creation bit to set the default database, since it isn't loaded.

Code:
$this->database_model->create_database();
$db['default']['database'] = "mydb";

Basically, what I am trying to do is allow a first-time user to set up a database if it doesn't exist, and then to create the tables. Since the database doesn't exist, I can't set the default database in database.php.

I have a feeling this problem is due to my inexperience with the framework; perhaps I am approaching the problem in the wrong way?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

[eluser]Eric Barnes[/eluser]
I am not sure if this is the desired outcome but I would probably insert the database name in the config file then in dbforge use something like:
Code:
$this->dbutil->create_database($this->db->database);

[quote author="suzkaw" date="1202263538"]I am not sure if this is the desired outcome but I would probably insert the database name in the config file then in dbforge use something like:
Code:
$this->dbutil->create_database($this->db->database);
[/quote]

Okay, good point.