Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Starter help

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi all

I am relatively new to code igniter and php although I have coded in perl for many years. I have been following a few really good tutorials online and have managed to build a login page using back end authentication via a MySQL database and sessions.

What I am struggling to understand is I want to be able to check on every page if a user is logged in without having to type loads of duplicate code on each page

I have searched the web and while there are some great posts by some talented users about this subject I am not experienced enough to understand what they are talking about

Some people are saying create a MY_Controller in the libraries directory and within each construct on every page reference this controller. While I have tried to do this I just get errors. Probably because I don't know what I am doing.

What I have so far is

1. Login controller which just displays the login screen
2.verify controller which verifies if that user is logged in, using a model to access the db
3. A home page which I have split into 2 parts. A header which contains a menu and a logout button ( I am also passing a data array to this header to pull out the username and last logged in vars to display) these 2 pages are called by the home controller which is called from the verify controller if they are logged in

4. And a body page with just some placeholder text on it

What I would like to achieve is a simple way of checking on every new page I call if the user has a valid session and is logged in, if not redirect them back to the login page

Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciate

Thanks. Mythandra

[eluser]FireMe[/eluser]
would be easier if you post some of you code but here goes nothing.

you want something like in you login process model

Code:
$this->session->set_userdata('logged_user', $user_id);
Which adds your user_id to the session data.