Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Safe location of CodeIgniter in Wamp Server

[eluser]dudzartiaga[/eluser]
Hi Everyone,

I am new to web programming. I am wondering if where to put safely the codeigniter files and my files in Wamp Server?

I installed wamp and it's directory is C:\wamp.

I am planning to upload it on the internet, i guess I should start practicing now good habits in CodeIgniter.

Your advises are very much appreciated!

Thank you very much.

[eluser]Otemu[/eluser]
Hi,

Just create a folder within Wamp C:\wamp\mysite and put all your codeigniter files there

When uploading to internet copy the codeigniter files within your site directory folder(e.g C:\wamp\mysite) and paste in the correct directory(e.g public_html folder)

Normally you would setup different configs for different environments, so you could have one for your local(development) and another for live host(production), check out instructions in the guide here look for environment heading.

Hope that helps

[eluser]whatisnewone[/eluser]
u r need reading some books of chmod, chown, ACL, SSH, FTP, HTTP, SQL INJECTION, etc...

[eluser]Tpojka[/eluser]
[quote author="dudzartiaga" date="1384439843"]Hi Everyone,

I am new to web programming. I am wondering if where to put safely the codeigniter files and my files in Wamp Server?

I installed wamp and it's directory is C:\wamp.

I am planning to upload it on the internet, i guess I should start practicing now good habits in CodeIgniter.

Your advises are very much appreciated!

Thank you very much.[/quote]

WWW folder is folder where should be all projects not Codeigniter anly, but any that you make in your localhost. In www folder there should be folder for each project. For example:

Code:
C:\wamp\www\projectname\

In that folder (newly created) you have to put unpacked CI files.
You are calling CI application with:

Code:
http://localhost/projectname/

And that should be that for localhost.