Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How should I write an "edit" view/controller to prepopulate values and perform validation?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi all,

I'm new to CI after developing in flat php since 2000, so the MVC thing is quite alien to me.

I'm writing a small test app in preparation for a database contract i'm starting on for a client next month, so would appreciate any pointers you can give.

I'm trying to write an "Edit" page so that a client's details can be changed when required. This needs to have the same validation as the add page, which uses...

Controller function:
Code:
function add() {
        $rules['name'] = "required";
        $rules['email'] = "required|valid_email";
        $rules['job'] = "required";
        $rules['phone'] = "required|numeric";
        $this->validation->set_rules($rules);

$fields['name']    = 'Username';
        $fields['email']    = 'Email Address';
        $fields['job']    = 'Job';
        $fields['phone']    = 'Phone Number';
        $this->validation->set_fields($fields);

if ($this->validation->run() == FALSE)
        {
            $this->load->view('client_add_view');
        }
        else
        {
            $this->db->insert('clients', $_POST);

redirect('client/');
        }
    }

View:
Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>Add Client</title>
</head>
<body>
<h1>Add Client</h1>

<p>&lt;?=anchor('client/', 'Back to Client List');?&gt;</p>

&lt;?=form_open('client/add');?&gt;

<p>name &lt;input type="text" name="name" value="&lt;?=$this-&gt;validation->name;?&gt;" />&lt;?=$this->validation->name_error; ?&gt;</p>
<p>email &lt;input type="text" name="email" value="&lt;?=$this-&gt;validation->email;?&gt;" />&lt;?=$this->validation->email_error; ?&gt;</p>
<p>job &lt;input type="text" name="job" value="&lt;?=$this-&gt;validation->job;?&gt;" />&lt;?=$this->validation->job_error; ?&gt;</p>