Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
The Future of CodeIgniter

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
CodeIgniter has a future, I can assure you.

BCIT is taking over the project to provide stewardship, continuity, hosting, and to foster ongoing community involvement. This is not meant to be "just a student project".

The codeigniter.com domain is being transferred to BCIT. Once complete, the informational website on ellislab.com will redirect to the new, improved, whiter and oranger than ever codeigniter.com, and the forums on ellislab.com will be “archived”, in favor of the new ones I have setup on my server - necessary because of account privacy on ellislab.com.

At that point, I will be posting a news/blog item about the vision/planning for the project, and inviting the community to participate.

I have been developing and teaching webapps, using CodeIgniter for the last five years. That covers a dozen or so I have built on my own, and over 200 that I have mentored or overseen the development of. I am passionate about CodeIgniter, as are many of you!

James Parry,
CodeIgniter Project Lead

[eluser]startbbs[/eluser]
good news, I am developing my project "startbbs" with CI. hope CI3.0 can be released soon.

[eluser]no1youknowz[/eluser]
Honestly. Much too late, way too late.

CI is great, for legacy applications. Anything newer, there are far better options.

Some of us, even threw away CI because we out grew it and developed our own (much faster and much better) frameworks.

Unless the "new" version of CI encompasses all these things: https://philsturgeon.uk/blog/2012/12/5-t...-a-rewrite . You won't really get back the following you once did. It'll just be for those that really don't know any better or are incapable of learning better coding standards/practices.