Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
social networking site

[eluser]ci_man[/eluser]
Hi everybody,

I am totally new to CI. After reading the online doc, I have to say I really like it. I plan to build a social networking site using CI, so I would like to know if anyone has experience for building social newtworking site with CI. Would you recommand CI for such sites? what are the pros and cons? Thanks a lot.

Max

[eluser]Chris Newton[/eluser]
If you think PHP is a good basis for web application development then there is no reason not to use CI. The great thing about CI is that it does not rely on a lot of strict conventions. If at some point you choose to eschew some of it's methods & functionality in favor of plain PHP you're not really locked into anything.

Personally, validation, encryption, active record, form helpers are what have me absolutely loving it. I just recently built a custom shopping cart in under 2 weeks, including a user login system with password retrieval, database operations for adding phone orders, with CURLed XML output to a fulfillment center, automated CSV export & import. I would have never been able to complete something that fast and that ambitious without CI... let alone something that I feel is relatively secured against vanilla hacking attempts. I think CI is a powerful tool in my PHP arsenal, and it makes me enjoy doing what I do a little bit more.

The only thing that I really wish CI had built in was support for many-to-many database relationships. Editing & displaying many-to-many database table relationships is still a pain, and relies on a lot of complicated SQL queries.

[eluser]ci_man[/eluser]
Thanks. This framework is very easy to learn. I will go forward.

[eluser]Josh Giese[/eluser]
I am currently building a social network based on ci code. the development so far has been quick and I'm excited to launch it once its done. do has been a great help so far.

[eluser]CoolGoose[/eluser]