Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI3 - wiredesignz HMVC

Hello,

I've just setup a local copy of CI3 & installed wiredesignz HMVC and following the installation instructions I have the welcome message working as it should, I'm just getting started and would like to be able to include a single header.php file & footer.php to use across the application, but unsure where to actually put them within the application.

I currently have the following:
/application/modules/welcome/controllers/Welcome.php
/application/modules/welcome/views/welcome_message.php

/application/modules/templates/views/header.php
/application/modules/templates/views/footer.php

If I put
Code:
<?php require_once 'header.php'; ?>
in welcome_message.php so it loads the header.php where required so basically I don't have to add a header or footer file to each module??
and I can keep them in one place

Regards

You need to create a controller Templates with the method header() and footer()

With hmvc basically you call the method header and footer in any views:

<body>
echo Modules::run('template/header');
<p>Something...</p>
echo Modules::run('template/footer');
</body>

I have an article about this (in spanish)  http://davicotico.com/configurar-codeigniter-y-hmvc/

Hi Davicotico,

Thanks for the reply, I'll look at this more in detail, although I don't speak Spanish I can kind of figure it out what you mean.

Regards

Hello ambush-reality, welcome to the forum...

I think that Davicotico misunderstood your problem. First of all, when working with views you never use required or include to get the view in your project. The normal way is to use $this->load->view('view_name');.

Because you are using HMCV you can load a view almost the same way. HMVC sometime can sometimes find it without help when you use only the name of the view, but it's easier just to point load in the right direction by addressing the module where the views is located. In your case:

PHP Code: