Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Looking for little bit of advice on someting

Hi all, first i'll say i am a newbie to Frameworks so this might seem like a pretty dumb question but i was just looking for a little bit of advice on something.

Currently i'm doing a project and have a "members" area so i have tried to develop a login/registration system. Its only basic at the moment as i've just started and so far everything appears to function as it should (i.e can register a user, login,  only a logged in member can view a certain page, if a users account status is a certain status then login fails and informs the user of whats wrong)

So, i was wondering if i was doing this the correct way for the login process (new to the whole controller/model style)

In my "members" controller i have the following which processes the login (this function is called via another function if form validation is successful)

I know theres 3rd party auth libraries but i prefer to do it myself if possible so i know whats what.

This is the main part of the controller i'd like (if possible) any advice on

PHP Code:
public function processLogin()
{

if$this->uri->uri_string() == 'members/processLogin'show_404();

$this->load->model('user');

$valid_user=$this->user->validate();
        if(!
$valid_user) {

$DMData= array(

'DisplayMsg'  => TRUE,

'DisplayMsgType' => 'danger',

'DisplayMsgContent' => $this->lang->line('members_invalid_login')
                    );

$this->session->set_flashdata($DMData);        

redirect('/members/index/');
    } else {

// User account is active so lets let them in

if ($valid_user['status'] == $this->config->item('account_active')) {

// Set session information

$this->session->set_userdata($valid_user);

$DMData= array(

'DisplayMsg'  => TRUE,

'DisplayMsgType' => 'success',

'DisplayMsgContent' => $this->lang->line('members_login_success')
            );

redirect('/members/upanel/');

// account is pending so lets tell them