Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
My web app is slow
Sad 

Hello,

I hired a student to create a web app for our tech recycling business. The customer visits the site, selects their device, answers a few questions about the condition, and then we generate an instant quote for that model based on their answers. We are using a MySQL database on a shared web host. The app seems very slow when loading and going through the process. I am not a developer but if there is anything that I can do that might help, please let me know. The developer I hired is busy on other work so I am kind of stuck.

The selling page

Thanks,
Frank

It seems fine to me, not slow at all.

You have a system were the page has to fully download before it shows, which displays your spinning icon while it is loading. This is so the page displays complete and tidy, and has no layout breaking movements while bits download. For your simple site design this is probably not needed and gives the impression that the page is slower than it is.

Your option pages seem to be loading all the possible options for every stage, on every stage. A strange approach to take IMHO. Given the simplicity of your site design I would imagine it would be like lightening. You also have a https://www.tawk.to/ script on the page that might be slowing things down too. And you are linking to fontawesome from a bootstrap server too, which again could be a source of delays. This is a tiny set of files you would normally download and host locally. However I would suspect it is the tawk servers slowing your site down when they are busy.

But is there a simple way to improve your site speed, not really. Perhaps upgrade your web hosting?

Best wishes,

Paul.

(04-10-2016, 08:02 AM)PaulD Wrote: It seems fine to me, not slow at all.