Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
template engine?

(This post was last modified: 06-14-2016, 12:38 PM by PaulD. Edit Reason: added quote )

Quote:I am not a designer, but I got to hate writing PHP-views. :-) Although PHP is thought as a template language, as such it is a failure, I think.

Here is what I can say:

1. A specialized template language is needed, nevertheless how designers feel comfortable with PHP. Even, it could be partially portable outside PHP-systems.

2. CodeIgniter's policy about escaping has changed, escaping should be at output. A template engine with enabled by default HTML-escaping would give comfort in this situation. Otherwise it is not certain how carefully view's PHP code would be written. Built-in escaping for other contexts as HTML-attributes, JavaScript, etc. could be handy too.

3. A sophisticated template engine adds more value to programming than just arrangement relationships between programmers and designers. Seek for block-support, blocks could be defined in an abstract way and placed and moved wherever you like in your master template, a concrete controller can fill them with the concrete information.

A good template engine will allow you to clear your controllers from any visual design aspects - this is not achieved by me yet, due to maintaining BC, but it is achievable.

4. The CI3 built-in parser is quite minimalistic, it does not add significant value in comparison with the pure PHP-views. Better don't waste your time with it. Carefully pick up a third-party template engine and integrate it within your application.

Hi,

In comment to your points:

However php started, it is so much more than a template language now. That is like saying windows is just a way to access my files.

1. It might be needed, it might not. Some projects will benefit, others won't.

2. It may have changed. But I now see why data should be escaped on output. It makes alot of sense to me now.