Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CodeIgniter doesn't work with an MS Access database

Hi,

I'm new to PHP and CodeIgniter and I'm having troubles with the sample application in the Tutorial chapter of the CodeIgniter manual.
It doesn't work with an MS Access database. I managed to connect to it, but exactely the statements for selecting and inserting records into it (in the News_model.php) don't work.

The database connection settings are like:
PHP Code:
$db['default'] = array(

'dsn' => 'DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb, *.accdb)}; DBQ=C:\Users\Dinu\Desktop\TestDB.accdb',

'hostname' => 'localhost',

'username' => 'Dinu',

'password' => '',

'database' => '',

'dbdriver' => 'odbc',

); 

My News_model.php is this:
PHP Code:
<?php
class News_model extends CI_Model {

public function __construct()

{

$this->load->database();

}

public function get_news($slug FALSE)

{

if ($slug === FALSE)

{

// $query = $this->db->get('news');

// Err: Call to undefined method CI_DB_odbc_driver::get()

$query $this->db->query('SELECT * FROM news');

// This is good

return $query->result_array();

}

// $query = $this->db->get_where('news', array('slug' => $slug));

// Err: Call to undefined method CI_DB_odbc_driver::get_where()

// $query = $this->db->query('SELECT * FROM news WHERE slug = "' . $slug . '"');

// Err: SQL error: [Microsoft][ODBC Microsoft Access Driver] Too few parameters. Expected 1

$query $this->db->query('SELECT * FROM news', array('slug' => $slug));

// This allways gets only the first news, regardless of what the slug is.

return $query->row_array();

}

public function set_news()

{

$this->load->helper('url');

$slug url_title($this->input->post('title'), 'dash'TRUE);

$data = array(

'title' => $this->input->post('title'),

'slug' => $slug,

'tecst' => $this->input->post('tecst')

);

// return $this->db->insert('news', $data);

// Err: Call to undefined method CI_DB_odbc_driver::insert()