Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI for a Professional Project?

[eluser]gilgalad[/eluser]
Helo Php Gurus,

I'm a Computer Engineer student from Turkey, and i'm building a "final project" for my graduation. I've decided to build a different news portal with PHP. So i find you and your great framework.

But, i've exemined that with CI, there is a different coding approuch to php projects. Ok , object oriented is really tasty but, for me it's a little weird, but i've to accept that it's more and more professional.

In time I'll ask a couple of questions for my project, but at first i've to ask a simple one:

Think that, you have an index.php file that includes latest news, latest comments, latest etc.. With classical approuch, i would create different files like latestEntries.php, latestComments.php than with an easy include() function, i would add them to my index.php file.

But in CI it's really different. How can i import different files, or is that neccesary?

And, is there any sample "tiny" projects like that? I've watched your videos and read your guides, but i couldn't find the key i think.

All your helps will be appreciated.

Kindest regards.

[eluser]nmweb[/eluser]
Once you go proper oo there really is no going. Once you get the hang of it you'll code better, clearer and with fewer bugs. CI only promotes OO partly but enough to get you going.

Your index.php in CI is the default controller, the controller people end up in when they type in www.yoursite.com

Ideally you'd have a model for entries and one for comments. You'd load these models, retrieve the information with $this->entries->get_latest(10) same for the comments. Put this information in a resultset and pass the resultset over to a view: 'latest_entries.php' in which you loop over the resultset and output nice html.

These views should be subviews of your template view.