Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
About php frameworks

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hello there ! (sorry in advance if there are english mistakes, it's not my language)

I'm an amateur php-coder, sometimes coding for small commercial projects, and I'm just discovering the existence of php frameworks. Until now, I always coded from scratch, just using the phplib templates system.

I've watched the 'blog in 20 minutes' introduction. OK, 20 minutes is fast for doing that.

But in that example, all the elements are simple, for instance, the link made with the url_helper achor() is a normal link. What if I wanted to add a onclick javascript onto my link ? Is there another function ? Do i have to add parameters to anchor() ? And what if I have to put a style, an id, or any other thing ? Do I have to modify the anchor() function ?

Well, what is sure, is that I will have to read the manual just to make a link.

At this point, I ask myself if it isn't just simpler to type in raw html code, which isn't that complex anyway.

And I guess the question is the same about almost everything. Look at the open_form() function, or the mysql functions...

It seems to me as if all of this is just an alternative syntax which I have to relearn, maybe somewhat shorter, but not easier.

I know my post somewhat trollish, I guess I didn't get it... (at least my post will give you feedback about how the introduction video is understood). But I didn't find explanations about the general purpose of a framework, and it's hard to make an idea before using it for a whole project.

Thanks !

[eluser]nmweb[/eluser]