Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Should I make a library, module or singleton class...

[eluser]uprise78[/eluser]
Hi,

I am new to CI and had a quick question. It is probably blatantly obvious, but I havent seen an answer on the forums on in the docs. I need to be able to call a method on every page of my app that will parse a cookie and pre-fill some variables with the contents. Should I put this in a library and add it to the config or use a singleton class that gets instantiated in the constructor of my model or some other way?

Thanks in advance,
Mike

[eluser]Clooner[/eluser]
There are several solutions for this. If it is only one method the quickest way is to use a helper and autoload this. For several I would put in a library and autoload this or you could even extend the controller and put it in there...

It is just what you prefer.

I guess the quickest way is the helper way.

[eluser]webthink[/eluser]
I believe the original poster wanted to execute the code on every page which is not going to happen simply by putting it in a helper and autoloading it.
If you want the "CI Way" to do what your suggesting have a look at Hooks

[eluser]Rick Jolly[/eluser]
[quote author="webthink" date="1205845069"]I believe the original poster wanted to execute the code on every page which is not going to happen simply by putting it in a helper and autoloading it.
[/quote]
True, but aren't autoloaded libraries included and instantiated. In that case, any code called from the constructor of an autoloaded library will be executed.
[quote author="webthink" date="1205845069"]
If you want the "CI Way" to do what your suggesting have a look at Hooks[/quote]