Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Upgrading CI to last version

Hello everyone hopes you fine

I have a website using CI 3.1.5 and I need to upgrade to the last version is there more detailed to how can I do it? 

I'm an SYS admin, not a developer and the developer that make the website left the team

You could use the following : https://www.codeigniter.com/userguide3/i...ading.html
So update 3.1.5 to 3.1.6 and then 3.1.6 to 3.1.7 (this is the official way).

However I think you could just update from 3.1.5 to 3.1.8 by replacing the system folder with the new one

No because some of the updates make changes to the ./application folder.
What did you Try? What did you Get? What did you Expect?

Joined CodeIgniter Community 2009.  ( Skype: insitfx )

(06-04-2018, 03:42 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: No because some of the updates make changes to the ./application folder.

what you mean by "no"? I shouldn't make the upgrade or what?

(This post was last modified: 06-04-2018, 12:00 PM by dave friend.)

(06-04-2018, 03:42 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: No because some of the updates make changes to the ./application folder and perhaps to index.php.

I believe there is only one change in the ./application/ folder associated with moving to 3.02

Otherwise, simply replacing ./system with the most recent version will work just fine. BUT, it would be wise to walk through each of the Upgrading From a Previous Version docs and make sure to take care of the very few items that require additional actions. All that said, some of the items should be checked by a developer.

No not to just replace the system you also need to replace the index.php file etc;

You can watch the ./application folder for changes, I don't take chances so I
replace the whole framework I have a snippet app that I keep all my framework settings in.
What did you Try? What did you Get? What did you Expect?

Joined CodeIgniter Community 2009.  ( Skype: insitfx )