Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
mysql connection refused

I am a beginner with CI and I am working my way through the tutorials on your site as well as some others I found through googling.  Everything works fine until I encounter a part of the tutorial that requires interface to mysql.  I have tried many suggestions found through googling, but so far nothing works.  I have a simple controller that echos Hello world and then tries to $this->load->database();  This fails with connection refused error.  This is my current database connection configuration:
$db['default'] = array(
'dsn' => '',
'hostname' => 'localhost:/db01/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock',
'username' => 'jking',
'password' => 'mypassword',
'database' => 'citut',
'dbdriver' => 'mysqli',
'dbprefix' => '',
'pconnect' => FALSE,
'db_debug' => FALSE,
'cache_on' => FALSE,
'cachedir' => '',
'char_set' => 'utf8',
'dbcollat' => 'utf8_general_ci',
'swap_pre' => '',
'encrypt' => FALSE,
'compress' => FALSE,
'stricton' => FALSE,
'failover' => array()
);

As you can see, the location of the database has been moved on this particular server.

Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks

(06-26-2018, 03:36 PM)jameshking Wrote: I am a beginner with CI and I am working my way through the tutorials on your site as well as some others I found through googling.  Everything works fine until I encounter a part of the tutorial that requires interface to mysql.  I have tried many suggestions found through googling, but so far nothing works.  I have a simple controller that echos Hello world and then tries to $this->load->database();  This fails with connection refused error.  This is my current database connection configuration:
$db['default'] = array(
'dsn' => '',
'username' => 'jking',
'database' => 'citut',
'dbdriver' => 'mysqli',
'dbprefix' => '',
'pconnect' => FALSE,
'db_debug' => FALSE,
'cache_on' => FALSE,
'cachedir' => '',
'char_set' => 'utf8',
'swap_pre' => '',
'encrypt' => FALSE,
'compress' => FALSE,