Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Moving CI website to another server - only blank page showing

Dear Forum!

I have to move a website to an another serer. I never moved CodeIgniter websites before, and the site is not made by me. (I'm new in CI...)
I copied all files from the original server, to the new place. And I exported the MySQL database, and imported it into the new server. I edited the index.php, application/config/config.php and database.php. And when I want to show the page, nothing happened. In the browser I only saw a blank page. (The source was empty.)
Please help me, where can I find the error, and what went wrong?

P.

On thing you could check is if you have used short PHP opening tag (<? instead of <?php) anywhere in your code, and if you have, make sure your new server has short_open_tag=On in php.ini

Alternatively you can make sure all your code uses <?php or <?= and no short tags.

That little thing got me quite few times.

(This post was last modified: 06-28-2018, 12:33 PM by dave friend.)

Did the domain change or should the same URLs work as before?
Have you checked the logs in /application/logs/ ?

(06-28-2018, 05:49 AM)skindci Wrote: Dear Forum!

I have to move a website to an another serer. I never moved CodeIgniter websites before, and the site is not made by me. (I'm new in CI...)
I copied all files from the original server, to the new place. And I exported the MySQL database, and imported it into the new server. I edited the index.php, application/config/config.php and database.php. And when I want to show the page, nothing happened. In the browser I only saw a blank page. (The source was empty.)
Please help me, where can I find the error, and what went wrong?

P.

Before moving the actual site, did you test if your new server setup and fresh CI installation were functioning properly? (easiest way is to just set up CI and try to browse to the site to see if you get CI's welcome page)

I'd check:
Server settings: