Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Session table redundant records problem

Hi all,

I've been using Codeigniter for many years since 1.x versions.
The question I have is about Session library behavior, which I'm struggling to solve.

We recently upgraded PHP to 7.2 and also moved the application to CI 3.1.9 codebase.
In the 1.x and 2.x versions Session were not working properly (users were periodically logged out without a reason) and we used OB Session library, which was not supported for long time, but old code was working just fine.

With move to 3.1.9 we moved the core codebase, however, used old OB Session as a replacement for the moment, and it still works.

But due to wish to increase performance and security, we'd like to move to native Session of CI and this where problems started.

The application we have uses pages loads and makes periodic AJAX calls, which are initiated either on page load finish autoamtically, or by user action, e.g. by click on menu. Within AJAX controllers we need session parameters, e.g. to check access rights for user.

We want to have DB storage, and use MySQL. Initially tried the following settings:
$config['sess_driver'] = 'database';
$config['sess_cookie_name'] = 'ci_session';
$config['sess_expiration'] = 7200;
$config['sess_save_path'] = 'ci_sessions';
$config['sess_match_ip'] = FALSE;
$config['sess_time_to_update'] = 300;
$config['sess_regenerate_destroy'] = FALSE;

The problem was that when I load page, and then wait 5 minutes (time for session update) the new session ID was generated and saved in DB table, however, the old one was not removed. So it was left there for garbage collector to remove it later. Due to heavy use on the site, we don't want session table to explode, and would like to have just one latest session ID record in DB for active user.

For this I tried last parameter, which seems to be responsible for this and set:
$config['sess_regenerate_destroy'] = TRUE;