Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How-to update codeigniter4 framework via composer?

(This post was last modified: 12-01-2018, 10:08 AM by NiteRaven.)

Hi all,

I installed alpha2 via this command:

composer create-project codeigniter4/framework

(or I think I may have actually usedSmile

composer install codeigniter4/framework:dev-master

How do I update to alpha3 using composer? I ran:

composer update

in the framework directory and it only updated:

Package operations: 0 installs, 2 updates, 0 removals
  - Updating sebastian/environment (3.1.0 => 4.0.1): Downloading (100%)
  - Updating phpunit/phpunit (7.4.3 => 7.4.4): Downloading (100%)

I'm new to composer- could someone please tell me the command to update the entire framework from alpha2->alpha3?

Also, I'm concerned my application and public directories will get overridden. Is composer smart enough to leave those alone?

Thanks so much!

-Kyle

A "composer create-project codeigniter4/framework" creates the project, but the composer dependencies in it refer to third party packages, and I am not sure if "composer update" will work as you intend.

Any project which is based on the framework directly will have the same problem going forward, and that has been true with CodeIgniter 3 too.

We have a new (and experimental) solution: the CodeIgniter4 app-starter. It comes only with application & public, and the "framework" is composer-installed inside "vendor". A "composer update" after this would then update the nested framework Smile

Yes, that means re-building your project folder, but hopefully only once!

ciadmin, thanks for the quick reply, this sounds like a good solution! How do I rebuild my project folder? What steps do I need to take given the way I first installed the project?