Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI and PEAR or ZEND

[eluser]luftikus143[/eluser]
Hi there,

I am totally new to these coding environments. I normally just create the file hierarchy and the needed code of my web sites "by hand". Now, as I want to move to another level of programming, I wonder how the different environments and add-ons play together; or what the differences are...

Can anyone shed a light on that for me? CI versus ZEND environment?

I have really no clue...

Thanks for any hints,

Stef

PS: What does this "You are not interested in large-scale monolithic libraries like PEAR." mean? Large-scale? Monolithic? I was in another thread asking actually how to integrate PEAR with CI? As I want (I explained that in the other thread) to move an exisiting project into a more modular, flexible, opensource like environment (using eventually PEAR libs) , this statement makes me thinking.... and not understanding what CI actually is...

[eluser]bradym[/eluser]
[quote author="luftikus143" date="1207237610"]
Can anyone shed a light on that for me? CI versus ZEND environment?
[/quote]

From what I've seen, Zend is more like pieces you put together to build your own framework. The pieces can also be integrated into CodeIgniter or used as stand-alone libraries.

With CodeIgniter, the framework is built for you. There's no need to put the pieces together before you start writing your own code.

One very significant difference is that Zend is PHP5 ONLY, where CI supports PHP4 and PHP5.

The very best way to decide which framework is best for you is to spend some time building something with each one. Spend some time in the documentation, user forums, and build something simple to see which one fits your needs and coding style.

[quote author="luftikus143" date="1207237610"]
PS: What does this "You are not interested in large-scale monolithic libraries like PEAR." mean? Large-scale? Monolithic?
[/quote]