Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Noob Validation Custom Rule Function Quandry

Hello there,

I’m a mid-life crisis career-change-wanna-be complete noob programmer (if noob’s the right term here?)- of about a week now- and particularly new to PHP, CI, webservers and suchlike… so apologies upfront for possible and probable stupid questions.

I have looked over examples (in CodeIgniter4 4.0.0-rc.2 documentation, and on the CI website– for both CI3 and CI4) and many of the problems/solutions/examples posted on websites like the CI Forum, CI Github, New Myth Media Blog, Stack Overflow etc, though many of them seem to be for CI3, which seems to have some notable differences (?).

In my learning process, I have started by trying to simulate user sign in functionality.  I have a Controller, two Views (not shown here, but really simply pages- one a pretty much just single form, and the other one a “blank” success HTML page), a set of custom rules in the Validation.php file, and a CustomRule.php file with the first of the methods that will implement all my custom rules (which, ultimately, I’d like to have all set in the Validation.php file).  For lack of a better idea, I’ve stuck the CustomRules.php file in the app\Config\ folder.

There are two parts to my problem:

1)  For the life of me, I can’t figure out how to get the Validation service to pass additional parameters (from the form) to my custom rules function called ‘user_validated’.  The CI4 documentation describes what the custom function needs to cater for when accepting additional parameters, but not how to trigger the Validation service to pass these additional parameters to one’s custom function… so although ‘user_validated’ is called, only ‘user_email_offered’ is ever passed as in as a string- nothing else goes in, from what I can tell.  How do I get around this?