Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
From "pure" PHP to CodeIgniter

Greetings all!

I am very new member on this forum so let me introduce myself a bit. I am self-thought freelance PHP developer since 2015. I develop alone, so I consider myself more or less capable in PHP, javascript, jQuery, CSS, html, SQL (MySQL). So far, I had some 20-ish project, some with several 10s of thousands lines of code. I am quite aware that some of my development practices are not the best so I am trying to improve myself, more so as I started one large project. Anyway, mostly for security reasons, I decided to use a PHP framework, and after reading internet for several days, I picked the framework - CodeIgniter.

Any general thoughts, suggestions, comments? Is this the right choice?

Cheers!

I have been using it since 2009 and find it does everything I need and its not bloated like
all the other frameworks.

Welcome to CodeIgniter and the Forum.
What did you Try? What did you Get? What did you Expect?

Joined CodeIgniter Community 2009.  ( Skype: insitfx )

Codeigniter is the kind of framework that works perfectly for small projects and you can scale it well for big projects too.

It is specially good for projects that you have to maintain for a long period of time, because the internals aren't constantly being changed.

If you're starting with codeigniter and MVC frameworks and want to watch some videos about it I created a new youtube channel and I'm doing a series on codeigniter.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9HQjer...RoKMwtYQ4w
Website: marcomonteiro.net  | Blog: blog.marcomonteiro.net | Twitter: @marcogmonteiro | TILThings: tilthings.com

(07-12-2020, 05:06 AM)marcogmonteiro Wrote: Codeigniter is the kind of framework that works perfectly for small projects and you can scale it well for big projects too.

It is specially good for projects that you have to maintain for a long period of time, because the internals aren't constantly being changed.