Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Best CI Tutorials or Help Articles
Sad 

I am a retired IT Professional (Sales Consultant) who has dabbled in development over the past 20 years.  I have mainly done projects for friends and local businesses and non-profits.  My strengths have always been in database design, and was an active user of all kinds of databases from DB2 to DBase, Informix, Oracle, SQL Server etc..  I was mainly working as an analyst helping design new applications.  This is to explain that I tend to think in database terms when approaching a business problem.  The challenge has always been to build out a suitable front end to control data input and extracts by the user base.  Most of my work in the early 2000's was done in MS Access using VBA to script forms and controls.  I have a warehouse control program used by a local grocery to manage his warehouse which serves 8 stores.  The program has been running since 2006 and has not missed a day.  A couple of years ago, my main user retired and the owner hired three people to replace him.  Of course, they all needed to use the application, which ran on a stand-alone PC.  I wanted to move the program to a MySQL database with a PHP front end.  For the most part, I was able to produce all the reports and charts from the database.  Unfortunately, there is one "killer-app" that Access provided that has been impossible for me to get the client to leave.  This is basically a Master/Child form used to generate purchase orders and invoices.  MS Access has an incredibly integrated way of having a master form with the vendor and a detail form in which the user can quickly (key factor) select product from that vendor and then enter a quantity.  I wound up networking a server and using three PC's to support the business.  It has created many headaches trying to keep the three user's front ends in synch.