Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Need suggestion on "Call to a member function save() on null"

Hello There
I am new to codeigniter here.
I am learning codeigniter 4 by following the user_guide provided by codeigniter.com. I followed the lesson page by page and everyting is ok until I reached this section "Create news items

" (https://codeigniter.com/user_guide/tutor...items.html) which is the basic tutorial about how to save data (news item) to database.
I have problem with the example code as shown below
public function create()
{
    $model = model(NewsModel::class);

if ($this->request->getMethod() === 'post' && $this->validate([
        'title' => 'required|min_length[3]|max_length[255]',
        'body'  => 'required',
    ])) {
        $model->save([
            'title' => $this->request->getPost('title'),
            'slug'  => url_title($this->request->getPost('title'), '-', true),
            'body'  => $this->request->getPost('body'),
        ]);

echo view('news/success');
    } else {
        echo view('templates/header', ['title' => 'Create a news item']);
        echo view('news/create');
        echo view('templates/footer');
    }
}

After running the controller I got error message which is "Call to a member function save() on null".

any suggestion on this? I copied and pasted the code directly to my editor and follow everything from the tutorial but I got this error.

Thank you very much

(This post was last modified: 01-13-2022, 08:54 AM by captain-sensible. Edit Reason: added text )

whats your database situation and which one are you using ?

member function is same as class method ; either no data to pass to database or something up with database and its set up . Don't forget the data you pass in for fields has to match field names in database.