Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
newbie help with database view and lack of errors

[eluser]neilw[/eluser]
Hello,
I'm brand new to code igniter and it's looking really good Smile

However, I'm having a couple of problems which I imagine are embarrassingly simple. I decided to do a simple test of retrieving data from a database and outputting the contents to the screen using a controller/view (without the model):

In my controller class I added this function:
Code:
function games()
    {
        $this->load->database();
        $query=$this->db->get('retro_games');
        $ret="";
        foreach($query->result() as $row) {
            $ret .= $row->name . '<br />';
        }
        $data['gamelist']=$ret;
        $this->load->view('gameslist',$data);
    }
In my view I first tried to view it:
Code:
&lt;body&gt;
&lt;?php echo $gamelist;
?&gt;
&lt;/body&gt;
All works fine, however I wanted to take the string generation out of the controller and put it in the view so that the view can determine how to view the data, but I can't figure out how to correctly pass in and iterate through the data. I tried passing in $query, e.g.
$this->load->view('gameslist',$query);

but I don't know what to do in the view as you don't get $query, but the contents of it. I tried passing in $query->result(); but again I didn't know what to use in the for loop, e.g.
&lt;?php foreach($xxxxx as $row) {} ?&gt;

Can anyone help?

In my controller I thought I put in a correct bit of code, which turned out to be wrong, however no errors are generated and there is nothing in the log file, I simply get a completely blank screen with no generated html. Errors are turned on and I've got the log set to everything, e.g. following my code above I tried to chain things together:

$query=$this->db->get('retro_games')->order_by('name','asc');