Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CodeIgniter's Advantage

[eluser]Spasms[/eluser]
I was just browsing the usage of codeigniter against cakephp, symfony and zend. I'm new to CI and it's my first framework so I was curious what these other frameworks have that CI doesn't? How is CI different what what are the future goals of CI as a framework?

[eluser]Developer13[/eluser]
You may want to search the forums for comparisons of CI vs. others. It's been done pretty extensively.

[eluser]nmweb[/eluser]
Good documentation comes to mind Smile This is what CI excels at and if this is your first framework this is definitely a pro.

[eluser]Tom Glover[/eluser]
CI documentation and Support is second to none! I only started with it in late February this year and im almost pro now. this shows you how easy it is to use and how much, when needed, support there is on these forums. Benchmarked against cakePHP and Zend CI outperforms in speed and size. Again search the forums to find out more.

[eluser]Spasms[/eluser]
I agree, the simplicity and speed of CI are great. It seems other frameworks are much larger, sluggish and hard to configure. I'm happy I chose CI for my first big project. Smile

[eluser]Mirage[/eluser]
Welcome to CI!

Like D13 mentions, do a search of the forums for more in depth comparisons of frameworks for people who actually used both. It's really not so much about what does one framework have that the other one doesn't. At least not on a feature level. The question to ask whether a given framework provides you with the tools 'you' need to get your work done.

Since you say that you haven't worked with frameworks before though, let me give you my version of the 500ft view: