Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
I think I'm missing something with CI regarding controllers and views!

[eluser]Flemming[/eluser]
Hi guys,

I've been using CI for a couple of months now and I'm really happy with it. Really happy!

But I think I'm missing some logic ...

here's the example ...

I have a controller, lets call it 'products'.

I have a function/method in that controller, lets call it 'view_category_products'.

'view_category_products' loads a view ... 'productList.php' which displays all the products in the specified category, using a foreach loop.

I call the 'view_category_products' method : http://mysite/admin/products/view_category_products/1

so - I will see all the category 1 products displayed (using the productList.php view).

so far so good!

here's the bit I'm confused by ...

In my view I would like to display the product name AND do a lookup on each product WHILE I'm INSIDE the foreach loop, for example, using the productID to check if the product has any related products.

I'll try again to explain it more clearly!

In my foreach loop in my view I would like to call a function to perform additional work.

I can't think how I can do this in the controller BEFORE it passes everything to the view. I can only think that I have to do it from the view.

I expect this is just a question of changing my programming habits! Can anyone a) understand what I'm talking about? b) help me understand how to keep my view clean and free of calls back to controllers?

thanks in advance!

Flemming

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]