Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
form_dropdown()

[eluser]BigJobbies[/eluser]
Hey Peoples,

Im having some problems with a script im writing and was wondering if someone could help me out, Im new to this whole CodeIgniter thing, so please be kind Smile

I have created a form with a dropdown box, but i want to be able to show / hide <div>'s based on what selection they choose on the dropdown ... I figure it has something to do with the onChange attribute, but cant quite figure it out.

This is what i have to create the dropdown box

Code:
&lt;? $dropdown_js = 'onchange=SomeFunction();"';?&gt;
&lt;?=form_dropdown('link_type',$link_types,$this->validation->link_type,$dropdown_js)?&gt;

This works fine, what i would like it to do though, is get the value of the selected item in the dropdown box, and have that as the div "id" so that if i choose something with the value of "name" it shows <div id="name"></div> and hides the rest.

If someone has made something like this, or know how i would get started, that would be most appreciated, i have been racking my brains to figure this one out, but im far from a wiz at javascript.

Thanks All.

Smile

[eluser]SeanJA[/eluser]
Since you admit to not being a wiz at this javascript stuff you might want to take a look at jQuery, I am sure that they have a function for what you are looking for. I am no javascript wiz either... but I have no problems figuring out what to do with jQuery. Wink

For example:

Code:
$("#header>h4").click(function(){
  $(this).fadeOut("fast")
});

Fades out the h4 in the header

Hey,

Thanks for the reply, i know a little bit of the jQuery ... Im not sure that the function you have stated above works on dropdown boxes though, since all i have to go on is value="blah" instead of an ancor like h4 or another tag like that.

Cheers,

[eluser]SeanJA[/eluser]