Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
index.php

[eluser]patsm[/eluser]
Hi. I'm new to CI and am learning it with the help from the book Professional CodeIgniter. I am having a problem with the index.php. To access my site, I have to type in www.mydomain.com/CI-store/index.php. I would like to be able to access it by going to www.mydomain.com/CI-store.

I'm running this on an Apache web server, not xxamp or any other test environment.

Can someone help me with what I have done wrong? Thanks in advance.

I have set up .htaccess with code below and place it in the same place as index.php, license.txt, etc.

Code:
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond $1 !^(index\.php|images|captcha|css|js|robots\.txt)
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php/$1 [L]

In the routes folder, I have have the default controller set as $route['default_controller']="welcome";

The controller looks like this

Code:
class Welcome extends Controller {

function Welcome()
    {
        parent::Controller();    
    }

function index(){
        $data['title'] = "Welcome to Our Store";
        $data['navlist'] = $this->MCats->getAllCategories();
        $this->load->vars($data);
        $this->load->view('template');
    }

[eluser]trice22[/eluser]
Hello,

did you set the config item "index_page" in your config file? It should look like this:

Code:
$config['index_page'] = ""; // in line 26

I'm using online an .htaccess file that looks something like this:
Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^(/index\.php|/images|/js|/css)
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php?$1 [L]

Good luck,
trice

[eluser]patsm[/eluser]
Yes, my config file was set to " " but my .htaccess file was a bit different. I copied yours and it works like expected now.

Thanks so much for your help!

[eluser]trice22[/eluser]
Sure thing! Glad it helped.
—trice

[eluser]patsm[/eluser]
Can I ask one more thing?