Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
5.2.17 to 5.3.10 hosting site upgrade breaking things (depreciation errors)

[eluser]LouRocco[/eluser]
Hi out there! Firstly, I want to say I'm a codeigniter and php novice, but ready to learn. That said, I have a big pending issue on a live site!

So here's what's up: The site has a custom-built CMS using code igniter using PHP 4. It's running fine in PHP 5.2.17 on the hosting platform but the hosting site is forcing all to upgrade
to 5.3.10. When I manually upgraded the site through the Admin, I got
5 depreciation errors when I refresh the website. So I reverted it
back to 5.2.17, but on May 24 the upgrade is permanent. (eek!) Tech support
isn't allowing us to not upgrade, or delay this.

I was able to follow their FAQ to remove 2 of the errors. I downloaded
the "php.ini.sample" file, renamed it to "php.ini" and uploaded it
(within the etc folder) with just one line of code added:
display_errors = Off

But I still get these 3 errors on load. These are again deprecation
errors. If we can just turn them off somewhere else and the site
works, that is acceptable. I haven't fully tested every nook of the
website while in 5.3.10 but as I said, it appears just to be warning
messages and not true site breakage.

Questions: Do I need to upgrade everything to a newer version of Codeigniter?
Or... is there a way I can easily edit the code to avoid depreciation errors in 5.3.10, yet have all the forms/site function?

Any advice/insight would be awesome!

Thank you,
Lou

Here are the errors:

A PHP Error was encountered
Severity: 8192
Filename: codeigniter/CodeIgniter.php
Line Number: 60
Message: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated
Filename: libraries/Loader.php
Line Number: 255
Message: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated
Filename: database/DB.php
Line Number: 133

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]