Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Very basic life-cycle related question

[eluser]Hagbard[/eluser]
Hello there,

I'm a software developer coming from the Java and .NET world with no PHP experience, but a customer of my company required me to develop a PHP 4.3.11 (sic!) web frontend. Since I was already familiar and comfortable with the MVC pattern through J2EE/Struts development, I chose to use Codeigniter as a nifty helper to make it easier to do things "the right way" from the beginning.

Now there is a thing I find awkward.
Coming from Struts, I'm used to the way Tomcat handles the lifecycle of my Front Controller, a.k.a. ActionServlet, which basically means that the front controller, along with the framework's base classes, gets instantiated only once - e.g. when the web server is freshly started and the very first request is recieved. All subsequent requests are handled by the same servlet / front controller instance.

However, with Apache and CodeIgniter, it seems that all CI classes and custom controllers and "libraries" get instantiated again and again for every single request. Firstly, this is bound to be a great deal of performance overhead. But the biggest trouble I'm having is that I have to download some application resources from a remote SOAP web service (using the PEAR SOAP library), which I would like to do only for the very first request and keep it in the memory afterwards, rather than downloading the resources again and again for every single request. Is there any way to resolve these issues? Or am I just looking at it from the wrong direction?

Greetings (and Hail Eris ;-)),
Hagbard

[eluser]nmweb[/eluser]
Welcome to PHP, yes everything needs to be loaded on every request, that's the php way of doing things. You can use memcache to store stuff in memory but as I understand it it's just like a file cache only faster. Php just handles stuff very differently.

[eluser]Hagbard[/eluser]