Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help in include files

[eluser]khuram[/eluser]
Hi,

I am a totally noob in CI. Please bear with me. I have a petty set of problems which I am finding answers for if I am to stick with CI.

Every page has many parts. Header, Footer, Images, CSS, Config Variables (my own not CIs). My questions are

1. If a page has Header and Footer, do I make model-view-controller set for each of them.

2. If yes then this is definitely time consuming.

3. If no, where(location inside the application folder) to make my Include folder where I can put the header, footer files.

4. Can I use the Database class in these include (header,footer, category list) php files directly without going through MVC everytime.

5. How to include these files in my main MVC page.

6. Since these file will be needed on more than one pages, how can I make them global with the option to include them at some places and not include them some places.

7. Where to put my CSS, Images and .js files. Should I put them on the document root.

8. The config variables I need like site title, contact us email etc. are going to be loaded from the database. How can I do that, I'm basically stuck with file inclusion and going through MVC for each step.

9. Can anyone please provide me with a sample set of files just to get me acquainted with the heirarchy.

I hope these questions make sense. I am using CI 1.7 on PHP4. My URL is like http://localhost/site/. I have managed to hide the index.php through htaccess though. Smile

A timely reply would be greatly appreciated.

I am at this forum for the first time but hopefully not the last. I will share my website with you people in a week's time when it passes through first phase.

Best Regards

Khuram Javaid
PHP Developer

[eluser]Rey Philip Regis[/eluser]
Hi,