Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Problem with views

[eluser]invi[/eluser]
Hello everyone!

Up to this moment I have always found solutions for my problems in archived topics.

I have a template of my new application which consists of header, content divided into 3 columns [left, main, right] and footer. In the left column there is always login form [div block] but it should only be shown when user is not logged in. After logging there should be shown user menu. I do not know how to organize my views in this case. I was looking for solutions but I didn't find anything suitable for me.

Please help me to deal with this problem because I am new to CI and MVC in general and not everything is clear for me yet.

[eluser]bastones[/eluser]
Hi invi,

CodeIgniter is extremely easy to use and reading the user guide is essential to development with it. It is good to learn first before you head start into your own project, therefore most of your first questions will be answered as you read the user guide. You can read the user guide here and specifically from the Table of Contents its good to start at "CodeIgniter URLs".

MVC is an architecture approach which seperates code from HTML. All your PHP code is seperated from the design, structure and HTML that you generate for your end-users to see; and this is the underlying thing of the MVC approach. All PHP code goes in Controllers, and all your HTML code, and design, etc., goes in View files. It really is difficult to explain unless you see for yourself so its good to look at the beginning sections of the user guide and it would be good to check out this beginner introduction video tutorial to CI.

There's no need to rush into learning CI, its pretty simple and obviously a bit of PHP experience really is essential. Check out that video tutorial then beginning sections of the user guide. Whatever questions you then have, feel free to post them on the forum Smile.

[eluser]invi[/eluser]