Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Dynamical content loading question

[eluser]felyx[/eluser]
Well I am not used to frameworks as I just going to start working with CI after a couple of weeks of research on frameworks. I find CI very very promising. However I am very new to MVC approach aswell. My problem is that I had my own "system" which I was developing by. You might find it a bad way of doing things but still it worked for me. As you can see below in the code I had several (usually 2-4 part depending on the website's needs) dynamically loaded part of the page which was handled by my index.php (the code seen below). In the example below the website had a dynamic head part, a left and a right side. I can put there php code or html or both doesn't matter. I can even say that a page does not need to have different head section then the default so it will load the default if it doesn't find a specified one.

example:
http://www.somedomain.com/home -> will load home.php, home_head.php and home_right.php
http://www.somedomain.com/categories -> will load categories.php, categories_head.php and categories_right.php
http://www.somedomain.com/about -> will load about.php, home_head.php and home_right.php

My problem is that I do not know which one is the best (easiest) way of getting this work in a CI project. I read about extending controllers and that I can load views from within another views but I am not sure it will work how I want it to. If you could please help me I would be very grateful.

Basic example of my index.php:

Code:
<?
$URI = explode("/", $_GET['q']);
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
&lt;html&gt;
&lt;head&gt;
&lt;?
if (eregi("^home$|^categories$",$URI[0])) include_once('./head/'.$URI[0].'_head.php');
else include_once('./head/home_head.php');
?&gt;
&lt;/head&gt;
&lt;body&gt;
<div id="header">
header content...
</div>
<div id="wrapper">

<div id="content">

<div id="menu">