Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Nice Code Tipp is needed or how to minimize memory usage

[eluser]Gewa[/eluser]
Hi, I am not a profi php programmer,so I liked the way codeigniter is developed. MVC is cool. But now when I am working with big datasets (yellowpages with 140.000 firms, and more than 800Categories) I need a tip how to minimize memory usage .

I have 2 general problems with project.

a) project is in UTF-8 and after cashing its showing unreadable characters ( when unicode cirilic or other languages texts are used)

b) memory usage of 3MB-6Mb...

Usually I call database directly from controller , then parsing data , generate HTML in controller, and pass it to views

lets say
Code:
$qq=$this->db->get('categories);

foreach($qq->result as $cat){

$data['mod_listing'].="<li><a href="/category/show_cat/">cat_id."/>".$cat->cat_name."</a>";
}

$this->load->view('cat_template',$data);

and then in cat_template.php just echoing $mod_listing....

After I discovered that if I generate the HTML inside the Model, and call this model directly from view file with making

Code:
&lt;? echo $this->cat_model->show_cats();?&gt;

will decrease memory usage lets say 10% not so much...

BUT WHAT IS THE PERFECT WAY?

HOW YOU DO?

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
How does the data in the database view through PHPMyAdmin? I'm guessing that you haven't set the character coding in the output HTML.

As for memory usage, I've no idea which part of your code is using up so much memory, so I can't help you there.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Quote:b) memory usage of 3MB-6Mb...

Memory usage will be Fun. Have you looked at the [url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/general/profiling.html"]Profiling Class[/url]? That'll give you some amount of insight, but possibly not detailed enough for your purposes.