Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Download and general security question

[eluser]BobbyB[/eluser]
Hi boys and girls,
I have a question on how to secure user downloads and keep unauthorized users from downloading other users' stuff.

Right now I have follwowing code which is supposed to stop users that are logged in to guess other users' directories and download files from there.

This is my download function:

Code:
function download(){

check_login(); //////Here I check if a user is logged in at all(Helper). If not he will be redirected.

/////Now I get the users root directory and the file name/id.
$download = $this->input->get_post('download', TRUE);
$root = $this->input->get_post('root', TRUE);

///Now I check if the root directory is the same as the one saved in the session if not the user will be redirected
if ($root!=$this->session->userdata('root')){redirect('');}

Is this a good way to do this?
Any comments welcome.
I am quite new to php/codeigniter so please dont hit me with a stick Smile

Thanks in advance!

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
I'm sure I'm probably missing something here, but what exactly is 'root' used for? I don't understand it's role.

[quote author="BobbyB" date="1239311624"]I am quite new to php/codeigniter so please dont hit me with a stick Smile[/quote]

You're OK there, because I'm fresh out of sticks. I just tend to lurk in the shadows and pounce with my ninja-like reflexes, and beat people half-to-death with the [url="http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/"]user guide[/url].

[eluser]BobbyB[/eluser]
Hi Fuzzy,
thanks for taking some time.

"root" stands for the directory which is created for each user once registered.
It is sth. like their "home directory".

Users will then be able to log in, upload files and also their invoices will be stored in a sub-directory of "root".

Of course I dont want userA to download files that are supposed for userB only.