Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How does one to extend Controller class?

[eluser]TaxiMan[/eluser]
It's necessary to extend basic CI class Controller. How can it be released right?

P.S. Sorry if such question was somewhere on the forum. Thanks!

[eluser]alboyd[/eluser]
I think you are not explaining your situation correctly because if you know anything about CI you always extend the CI controller when you create your controller.. So references to how to do this are splattered all over the user guide and this forum....

Please explain exactly and in as much detail as you can what it is that you would like to know.

[eluser]TaxiMan[/eluser]
I'll try to explain. I'm just learning CI by creating some project. And now there is a barrier. First of all I don't understand how can CI load secondary views from primary right? For example I have a primary view with marked {} secondary views inside:

Code:
<html>
{head}
<body>
{top}
<div class="menu">
</div>
{footer}
&lt;/body&gt;
&lt;/html&gt;

How to implement this scheme by means of CI?

I've got a real attitude problem. Temporaly I've left this question. But there is another one. I have a lot of my controllers wish must use my method. Accordingly I must to create some parent class for the method. But this parent controller class must extends CI Controller. How can I do it right? Thanks!

P.S. I hope you understand me.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="TaxiMan" date="1251664687"]I'll try to explain. I'm just learning CI by creating some project. And now there is a barrier. First of all I don't understand how can CI load secondary views from primary right?[/quote]

You can load views from within a view - that's quite do-able, and a lot of people do it this way.

*I* don't like it, because I find it confusing (and I think the controller should be handling this more directly).