Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Header and Footer (Help needed)

[eluser]navetz[/eluser]
I have just started using code igniter and I love it.

I want to know hot to use set a header and footer without having to load it in your controller or view everytime.

Can you set up hooks to do this? If you do can you add variables to the controller to modify the hooks?

Example:

Set up a hook to load your header then do this:

Code:
$data['homeTitle'] = 'page Title';
$this->load->view('Template_page', $data);

However homeTitle is in your header hook and not your view Template_page.

I am new to codeigniter and have never developed anything with it before. Tomorrow will be my first day so please tell me if I am way off in my way of thinking lol.

[eluser]kyleect[/eluser]
This is an extremely common question and there are a lot of threads on the boards about it. In my opinion, the best place to start is with MY_Controller. Here is mine and should provide a decent stepping stone in developing yours.

(I had to post a link because the board filters some of the code for some reason saying [removed]
http://pastebin.com/m13a8d7ea

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="navetz" date="1253453011"]
I have just started using code igniter and I love it.
[/quote]

Hi navetz and welcome to the CI forums.

Quote:I want to know hot to use set a header and footer without having to load it in your controller or view everytime.

We have a wiki, too, that you can use.

[url="http://codeigniter.com/wiki/"]wiki[/url] | Approaches | Header and Footer ... on every page

[eluser]benoa[/eluser]
Hi navetz, have a look at <a href="http://net.tutsplus.com/videos/screencasts/5-super-helpful-web-development-video-quick-tips/">this five-minute screencast from Nettuts</a>. It's a nice trick I'm using on the backend of my site.

[eluser]BrianDHall[/eluser]