Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
question about controllers, urls and good practice

[eluser]keld[/eluser]
Hi all,

I'm a beginner with codeigniter and mvc framework.

I've started a few days ago the development of a new website and after creating a few pages, I was wondering if it's good practice to have a controller for each views, mostly to have cleaner urls.

Let's say I have pages (views) called portfolio, demo, contact ect... so in my controller i have 3 functions called function portfolio(), function demo(),... but then my urls look like mysite.com/mydefaultcontroller/portfolio/ so if I had a controller called portfolio then my urls would be mysite.com/portfolio/ ? am I correct? is it good practice, I also kept all my dbqueries into on model.

I'm using "Professional CodeIgniter" book for help but they've put everything in one controller...

Thank you for your help!

[eluser]Sbioko[/eluser]
Of course, this is a very bad practice, when you have one controller per one page. You can use bit.ly for shorting urls. Oh, as I remember, I have posted in Ignited Code a library for working with Bit.ly. Grab it.

[eluser]keld[/eluser]
Well I don't really want my site to have bit.ly urls, it doesn't make much sense and if this site is down one day, my site will be down too...

[eluser]Sbioko[/eluser]
I guarantee you, that while twitter.com is alive, bit.ly will be alive also :-) Bit.ly service has 600 million dollars of investments. Use it :-)

[eluser]keld[/eluser]
Thanks but talking about bad practice, this is one. Don't rely/depend on other websites to make yours working. It's just like using jquery with a straight link from google code like some do. If they get hacked, you're down if they're down. And I want clean urls that people can remember with my domain name in it, not some /4Tuzl2/ url to link to one of my page.