Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
using global variable or method within one class,

[eluser]OneCorea[/eluser]
I have little knowledge of OOP of PHP!...
but CI is a good framework even though I'm not good at the OOP..

I'd like to use some variable globbally in the method of a class..

Code:
class Board extends Controller{
   function Board(){
      parent::Controller();
      $this->load->model('board/board_admin_model', 'board_admin', TRUE);    
      if(!$code) $code="forum"; //--> error this line..
      $query = $this->board_admin->getBoardConfig($code);
      $BoardConfig = $query->row();
    }

function bRead($code,$no){

if($BoardConfig->name){ //--> error this line
      }
   }

}

even if I defined the $code, $BoardConfig in the consturctor,
I can't use those within the bRead( , ) method

how do i do if I'd like to use global variable within other method in the same class??

[eluser]Jim OHalloran[/eluser]
[quote author="OneCorea" date="1189340405"]even if I defined the $code, $BoardConfig in the consturctor, I can't use those within the bRead( , ) method

how do i do if I'd like to use global variable within other method in the same class??[/quote]If you define the variables at the class level (i.e. within the class, but outside any function) you'll be able to access them later using the $this keyword. This should do what you're after:
Code:
class Board extends Controller{
   var $code;
   var $BoardConfig;

function Board(){
      parent::Controller();
      $this->load->model('board/board_admin_model', 'board_admin', TRUE);    
      if(!$this->code) $code="forum";
      $query = $this->board_admin->getBoardConfig($code);
      $this->BoardConfig = $query->row();
    }

function bRead($code,$no){

if($this->BoardConfig->name){
      }
   }

}