Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Integrating CI with drupal or expression engine

[eluser]tim042829[/eluser]
I'm currently studying PHP via CI and also drupal. It is in my market and in my
future to be using PHP along with and integrated into a large CMS.
I think I understand that CI integrates with Expression Engine (EE). Am I correct?
Should I be studying EE rather than drupal?
IOWS: Is it more difficult to develop modules for drupal using CI.?

I would invite any and all comments. I don't wish to stir up an argument, if I am
trolling, then I am trolling for serendipitous enlightenment, not acrimony.

Looking forward to responses.
thanks
tim

[eluser]treeface[/eluser]
Hi Tim,

Trolling you are obviously not. No worries on that front.

I see you've used Python before, and as such I'll try to stick to something resembling a good analogy. CodeIgniter is to PHP as web2py is to python. Drupal and Joomla are to PHP as pinax or skeletonz is to Python. If you've used any of these before, you'd see the major point of difference here:

1. CI and web2py are simply MVC frameworks for PHP that create a few core classes (most notably the Model and Controller) that you can use to structure your entire back end around. You still have to build your site, but things like URI routing, html structuring, data access, etc. are all handled by the framework's core classes which you can access at any time.