Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Website stops responding a few times a day, no apparent reason.

[eluser]alitech[/eluser]
Hi guys

This is my second time on the forum and once again I am facing issues that are unexplained or need some insight from you codeignitor gurus.

I will start from the top. I am not a developer so really I am just representing my developer who is apparently at his wits end with this stuff.

My website can be viewed at http://bit.ly/15XD6k (please refrain from using the real URL in your replies, a humble request)

My website grinds to a halt a few times a day and needs an MySQL restart to kick it back to life. I have had the website live for over a year now but cannot get rid of this issue. I have had profiling turned on and reduced the amount of queries to the database to a bare minimum. It was initially over 1000 for every page, its now down to less than 20 per page.

This has helped for faster loading (i mean really fast) of pages but has not helped in the frequent outtages that occur on a daily basis.

I can see from my apache status in cpanel the amount of requests active. I will post that when I see a spike, for now its stable. As all live requests are shown as "W" in cpanel, when the site is down, the simultanous occurences of "W" go up to about 160. Thats when the whole website comes to a halt. I have done whois lookups on the IP adddresses and it seems that these are all caused by SERPS. I have a dedicated server by the way.

Also, there is no pattern of the type of pages called otherwise we would be able to check the culprits and toothcomb the coding of these pages to find what elements are causing the delay. It seems as if it is caused by ALL pages on the site and triggers overload by SERPS. My suspicion is on a single element on the pages that may be causing this, but so far, we have not been able to trace any issues at all with the coding.