Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
URL segments

[eluser]renathy[/eluser]
I am new in CI, so I have some questions regarding menu and URL segments.
I am not sure what for should I search (maybe routing or htaccess or anything else)...

So, I have three level navigation. For example:

- Info page (info)
= About myself (about)
= Friends (friends)
= Whatever else (whatever)

- Services (services)
= IT services (it)
= Some other services (other)
+ marketing (marketing)
+ sales (sales)

For every item in navigation menu I have controllers (see above in brackets).
I have the following questions:
1) Should I have controllers for every manu items or only for last level items?
2) How better handle the following situation:
- if you specify the whole url then it everything is ok (www.somepage.com/sales),
but if you specify controller from one level above (www.somepage.com/other -> this is second level navigation item, but third level navigation item needed, so source code should decide which controller of next level is default - it could be marketing or sales and redirect there?
3) I need page with controller "about" as a default page. How to manage this, as somepage.com; www.somepage.com/welcom; www.somepage.com/info; www.somepage.com/welcome/index and www.somepage.com/info/index all should actually be www.somepage.com/about/index?

4) If i have www.somepage.com/controller and www.somepage.com/controller/index actually be the same as www.somepage.com/controller/my_method, how to manage this?

Should I use redirects, htaccess, reroutes or something else?

I hope the problem is clear...
R.

[eluser]isawhat[/eluser]
1. You'll want "info" and "services" as the controllers and then the other items as the functions in each controller.