Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
One-way relationships with DataMapper?

[eluser]mscott809[/eluser]
I'm pretty much a noob here, and just getting started with DataMapper, but one thing I haven't been able to find is if DataMapper can support one-way (i.e., with no inverse) relationships. For example, let's say I want to track the user who last modified any given record (and therefore have a "last_mod_by_id" column in all my tables), but I don't care to be able to (easily) find out what records where last modified by a given user. I don't want to create a large join table or add unnecessary inverse foreign key columns for this when a one-way relationship will do the job.

I realize I can just manage this myself by storing the id of the user in this field and doing the lookup by id manually, but that's nowhere near as easy as letting DataMapper handle this for me.

Thanks.

I guess the question might be, can I just define the relationship on one model and not the other, or will DataMapper have issues with that? (I see from the FAQ and other questions posted here that this is something people accidentally do fairly frequently. But if I intentionally do this, will I get the one-way relationship behavior I'm looking for, or will I just get a pants-load of trouble?)

Code:
class User extends DataMapper {
  var $has_one = array();
  var $has_many = array();
}

class Record extends DataMapper {
  var $has_one = array(
    'last_mod_by' => array(
      'class' => 'User',
      'other_field' => ''
    )
  );
  var $has_many = array();
}

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
Yes, Datamapper will have issues with that, because depending on how you construct your queries, relationship information from either side is used.

Since this is a plain has_one relation, that should not be an issue, as it will refer to $user->id (which is an existing column, so no extra keys) and has_one doesn't need a relationship table.