Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Understanding models

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Newbiealert !
Hi. I'm pretty new to php and just beginning with CodeIgniter.
I understand the Controller and the View, but are not 100% sure what goes into the model.
If I want a class representing an article (title, text, date etc) do I put this into the model or is the model only for getting/inserting data from/to the specific table in the database ? And I should therefore make a class of its own to hold the information of the article and use the model like this:

$myArticle = new Article('Title', 'Text', '19.11.2007');
$articleModel->insert($myArticle->getTitle(), $myArticle->getText(), $myArticle->getDate());

Thanks.

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
It doesn't have to be limited to one table per model. Lets say you have a blog with the data contained in two tables : entries and comments. You can set up a Blogmodel with all get, update, insert and delete functionality for those two tables.

You have to decide for yourself which tables belong together. It's not wrong if you have one table models.

[eluser]nate_02631[/eluser]
Not really following your psuedo-code there, but I generally have one model per table type, which is not to say you can't do joins, etc... between different tables as it suits you... and group similar tables in the same model file (i.e. a stats model for stats_posts, stats_tags tables)...

Inserting data in a model would go something more like - in the controller
Code:
$data = array('title' => ’Title’,
              'text'  => ‘Text’,
              'date'  => ‘19.11.2007’);

$this->post->insert($data)

And in the model...
Code:
function insert($data) {
  return $this->db->insert('tablename', $data);
}