Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Complete newbie, does this make sense?

[eluser]ghebert[/eluser]
I'm simply want a page where you enter a project's name (KISS for now). When it's a new project it's empty and when it's not it's prefilled with the data from the database. It's a classic case.

I'm trying to copy our current way of doing this (we have a basic custom framework). When we enter the edit page with idProject = 0, it means we're adding a new one. When it's greater than 0, we're modifying that project.

The following works, but I'm wondering if it's the "right" way of doing things:

Here's my controller:
Code:
function edit($idProject = null)
{
    // 1. when we click "add project" (/project/edit/0):     $idProject = 0
    // 2. when we click "edit project" (/project/edit/1234): $idProject = 1234
    // 3. when the filled form is posted (/project/edit):    $idProject = unspecified (null?)

$this->load->model('Project_model');
    $this->load->library('validation');

$rules['idProject'] = "numeric|trim";
    $rules['name']      = "required|trim";
    $this->validation->set_rules($rules);

if ($idProject > 0)
    {
        $data['query'] = $this->Project_model->get_one($idProject);

// force data in $_POST so it can be used by $this->validation->set_fields() below.
        $_POST['idProject'] = $data['query'][0]->idProject;
        $_POST['name']      = $data['query'][0]->name;
    }
    elseif ($idProject === '0')
    {
        $_POST['idProject'] = 0;
        $_POST['name']      = '';
    }

$fields['idProject'] = $_POST['idProject'];
    $fields['name']      = $_POST['name'];
    $this->validation->set_fields($fields);

// if we've just clicked on the "Edit project" or "Add project" button
    // or if the validation fails
    if ($idProject !== null || $this->validation->run() == FALSE)
    {
        $this->load->helper('form');
        $this->load->view('projectInfo');
    }
    else
    {
        $this->Projet_model->update_project();