Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
question on MVC

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hello

i'm quite new to CI, but i've a question regarding my first site i'm writing.

Basically, I've got a USER and a TEMPLATE class

so i wrote a Model 'User' and a model 'Template'.
In my User model, i have a field 'template' which in the db is stored as the template_id.
Now, what i want, is for the 'template' field to not contain the template_id but contain an instance of the template class with all my fields.

Now, what i did, is in my 'User' model, in the 'load_entry' method,
Code:
$template_id = $row->template;
            $this->load->model('Model_template', 'template' . $template_id);
            $this->('template' . $template_id)->load_entry($template_id);
            $this->template = $this->('template' . $template_id)->getInstance();

My little issue, concerns the CodeIgniter way of loading a model ...
personnaly i would have done so that the load->model method returns an instance of the model, ...
So what i did was add a getInstance() method in all my models (i should modify the model class ^^ so they inherit it ^^)

it basically does a return $this;

I haven't found much info about my type of issue, maybe i've done what everyone else is doing ? or is there a better CI way to do this ?

Thank you.

[eluser]Pygon[/eluser]
Maybe I'm confused, but I'm not exactly sure what it is that you're asking?

Objects can be passed to functions, by reference or copy, the same way that variables are. Is that what you're asking?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
not really no.

Sorry if my english isn't very clear Smile i'm from a country you probably never heard off ^^

Basically, i've got 2 classes : User and Template.

in my "normal code" (read: without CI)

i read a given user_id, read it from db, read the template_id in the user's row.
then i create a new Template object with that template_id and i store the object's reference in the user object.