Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Losing my mind with form_validation [SOLVED]

[eluser]theK2[/eluser]
I'm new to CI... Setting up a simple registration form with form_validation and running into a problem. I need to call my model before the view is displayed so that I can query the DB and get options/items for a couple of dropboxes on the registration form. BUT if form_validation fails and I load the model before displaying the view, the errors will not display. If I remove the call to load the model, all errors are shown.

Ideas? I've been racking my brain on this and can't figure this one out.

Controller
Code:
if ($this->form_validation->run() == FALSE){
   $this->load->model('registration_model');
   $data['fields_of_study'] = $this->registration_model->get_fields_of_study();
   $this->load->view('public/student/register',$data);    
}else{
   // just for testing - no need to redirect until I get the validation sorted out
   $this->load->view('public/student/register_step2');  
}

Model
Code:
function get_fields_of_study(){
   return $this->db->get('fields_of_study')->result();
}

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
Try this:
Code:
$this->load->model('registration_model');
$data['fields_of_study'] = $this->registration_model->get_fields_of_study();

$this->load->vars($data);

if ($this->form_validation->run() == FALSE){
   $this->load->view('public/student/register');    
}else{
   // just for testing - no need to redirect until I get the validation sorted out
   $this->load->view('public/student/register_step2');  
}

If that doe's not work then your problem may be in the view code!

[eluser]theK2[/eluser]
[quote author="InsiteFX" date="1328578684"]If that doe's not work then your problem may be in the view code![/quote]

Thank you for the quick response but that also did not work. Same result - it fails but doesn't show any errors. Here is the portion of the view where the errors are being displayed:

Code:
<?php
$args = array('id' => 'register');