Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Database object not available to Model(s)

[eluser]conord[/eluser]
EDIT: As suspected this was user-error. I had inserted some code in the system/core/model.php code that overwrote the default object. Removed code and database access has been restored. Leaving thread here in case same happens to someone else.

I'm still learning the ins-and-outs with CI and was working with models. Initially, I created a model and called it from a controller - but not the matching controller (eg: controller was Users and model was Stores). When I tried a DB query in the Stores model, got the "calling member function on non-object" error. BTW, the database library should be auto-loaded via the config.

I figured this was due to where I called the model from, so I added $CI->get_instance(); and $this->db = $CI->load('database'); Everything fixed.

Recently though, I created a base model (My_Model.php) which extends CI_Model. I then extend MY_Model in my Users model. Each class calls parent::_constructor() so I thought I should have access to the full CI instance through $this. That doesn't seem to be the case.

Code:

Code:
class MY_Model extends CI_Model
{
    private $_errors = array();

public function __construct()
    {
        parent::__construct();
    }
..snip...

}

Code:
<?php

class Usersmodel extends MY_Model
{
    private $_error;
    private $_user_table = "users";

public function __construct()
    {
        parent::__construct();
    }
public function get_all_users($order_by = "username ASC")
    {
        $this->db->order_by($order_by);
        if (false === $result = $this->db->get())
        {
            $this->set_error();
            return false;
        }

return $result->result_array();
    }
..snip..
}

The error is happening at the $this->db->order_by() line.

TLBig GrinR: Don't have access to $this->db inside my models.[/b]

[eluser]pbflash[/eluser]