Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
I hesitate to post this...

[eluser]Jesse Schutt[/eluser]
I hesitate to post this because I am such an absolute newb to php and codeigniter.

I am building an app that will (hopefully) allow users to purchase tickets to an event. We need to collect the basics, (name, address, phone, email, etc) as well as let them specify the number of tickets they would like to purchase. At that point I would like to transfer the user to Paypal to complete the payment.

My first question is this - Can you please help me use the xss clean function to make sure this is as secure as possible?

Thanks Much

Jesse

PS - I can post the code I have so far, if it would help.

[eluser]John Fuller[/eluser]
There are a bunch of ways to do this. Probably the most simple way is to do this...

Code:
$this->input->post('some_data', TRUE);

This would grab your post info and the TRUE parameter tells the system to clean. Read here for more info.

This is pretty basic as you mentioned, which is fine. However, you need to read through the docs thoroughly if you are to be successful with CI.

[eluser]Jesse Schutt[/eluser]
Thanks much for the response.

Quote:However, you need to read through the docs thoroughly if you are to be successful with CI.

Like I said, I am totally new to CI and to PHP, so I am still trying to glean enough information to even understand what I am reading in the docs.

[eluser]John Fuller[/eluser]
Absolutely, but I would still look through every page in the docs just to get a basic overview. I am still a noob myself. It helps tremendously to know what is already there. How many times have you cursed yourself thinking about how to do something with EE when you see that it is a simple feature already provided. Wink